The London Cartoonist on Countdown!

A chance for a little breather between corporate caricaturing (I’m off to Richmond tonight for the penultimate one before Christmas) resulted in some archive sorting. I came across this old photo of me when I was a contestant on the UK Channel Four Television game show Countdown!

Me on Countdown

As always, the shameless self-promoter, I brought along full colour caricatures of Gyles Brandreth, Carol Vorderman, Ken Bruce and Cathy Hytner plus a black and white one of the legendary chairman, Richard Whiteley.

They were very generous with the time they spent discussing my work and showing the drawings on air, but this was more than twenty years ago, now, so I don’t think anyone would be very impressed with them now!

I won one game and lost the next one to Andy Munday, who was  an ex-Krypton Factor contestant, so particularly geared up for the competition! So, at least I got the Shorter Oxford Dictionaries!

Ah, memories!

2 Responses

  1. DEAR SHAMELESS SELF PROMOTER
    HAVE A GOOD PARTY , GLAD YOU SURVIVED WHAT LOOKED A HEAVY BUILD UP TO THE FEST(HIC)IVITIES ,PROPER.
    SEE YA
    TIM

  2. Do you have a video of your time on countdown or even any other old time episodes?

    id love to see them if if have

    danny.woodhouse@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

